How to Manage Users on IPC Cameras: Add, Modify, and Delete User Accounts

Manage Users of IP Camera

Manage Users

  1. Go to Configuration->Security->Manage Users
This menu allows the user to change the user accounts on the camera. By default, the camera only has the admin account which has all rights/authorities. Additional accounts can be created from this screen. Below is a screenshot of the manage users screen:

Explanation

  1. Add User: This button allows the user to add a new user to the camera. 
  2. Modify: This button allows the user to modify the user account selected in the table. 
  3. Delete: This button allows the user to delete an user account. Note: The admin account cannot be deleted. 
  4. User Name: This column shows existing usernames.
  5. Group name: This column shows the which user groups the existing user belongs to. Below is an explanation of the fields on the promoted window when the user add/modify the user. 
  6. User Name: This field allows the user to create new accounts. 
  7. Password: This field allows the user to create a password for the new account. 
  8. Confirm password: This field ask the user to fill out the password again to confirm the password of the new account. 
  9. Group Name: This dropdown box allows the user to select the account groups: administrator, operator and viewer. They have the different right like the below:
  10. Administrator: it’s the camera’s administrator who has the full right or permission to access and operate all functionalities of the camera. 
  11. Operator: the operator can do the functionalities which are authorized by administer but not including creating new account and modifying other account’s password. Operator can modify its own password. 
  12. Viewer: the viewer cannot make any operation, only can view the video in live view, the viewer cannot see all configurations in the camera when he accesses the camera. 
  13. Authority list: the functionalities list which will be authorized by the administrator.